Text Size A A Print Print

Aboriginal Affairs Coordinating Committee

The Aboriginal Affairs Coordinating Committee (AACC) is legislated for under section 19 of the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972.  Under the Act "the function of the Committee is to coordinate effectively the activities of all persons and bodies, corporate or otherwise, providing or proposing to provide service and assistance in relation to persons of Aboriginal descent".

Committee membership comprises:

  • Mr Cliff Weeks, Department of Aboriginal Affairs (Chair)
  • Mr Peter Conran, Department of the Premier and Cabinet
  • Mr Tim Marney, Department of Treasury
  • Mr Terry Murphy, Department of Child Protection
  • Ms Heather Harker, Department of Corrective Services
  • Ms Sharyn O'Neill, Department of Education
  • Professor Bryant Stokes, Department of Health
  • Mr Grahame Searle, Department of Housing
  • Mr Paul Rosair, Department of Regional Development and Lands
  • Dr Ruth Shean, Department of Training and Workforce Development
  • Dr Karl O'Callaghan, WA Police
  • Mr Michael Hayden, Western Australian Aboriginal Advisory Council

Three Ways of Taking Action

The AACC takes action in three ways, each focused on cause and effect, improved service delivery and good governance:

1. Priority Locations

A small number of metropolitan, regional and remote communities are identified as models to introduce sustainable improvement. The learnings from these models will provide the basis for delivering sustainable improvement state-wide.

2. Crisis Response

The AACC will provide fast, effective response to key critical incidents involving Aboriginal people. Learnings from the incidents will be used to establish actions to prevent or address future situations. Funding through Royalties for Regions has been allocated for use by the AACC to expedite responses in the first instance.

3. Strategic Policy

The AACC aims to make decisions to resolve long-standing systemic issues that prevent progress in achieving better outcomes for Aboriginal people. These issues will be addressed through the development of strategic policy responses that identify appropriate solutions.


Last modified: 17 May 2013
To the Top..