Aboriginal Lands Trust

The Aboriginal Lands Trust (ALT) was established by the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972 (AAPA Act). The AAPA Act also established the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority that is now known as the Department of Aboriginal Affairs.

Find out more about the ALT, or read about the ALT policies.

ALT members:

Dr Robert Isaacs AM OAM CM JP PhD (Hon), Chairperson
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Robert is from the Bibbulmun, Whadjuk, Wardandi, Noongar Language Group. He is the Executive Manager of Social Lending Keystart Shared Equity Home Loans for the Department of Housing. He has been awarded the Order of the Australian Medal (OAM) and is widely respected and recognised for his contributions to Aboriginal housing, Local Government, Aboriginal health, Aboriginal affairs, employment, education and the community. He was named the Western Australian of the Year 2015.

Irene Davey
Term of appointment - July 2014 - June 2018

Irene is a Bardi woman from One Arm Point. Her interests are her culture, meeting people and sharing her culture with people giving them a better understanding of Bardi and Jawi way of life, her way of life. She is a Special Women's Cultural Advisor for the Kimberley Land Council.

Jacqueline Minney
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

With over ten years' experience in the rapidly evolving area of diversity, inclusion and Aboriginal affairs, Jacqueline has pioneered new ways to address prejudice, racism and discrimination. She is currently the Head of Diversity, Inclusion and Aboriginal Affairs at Laing O'Rourke a privately owned, internationally focused engineering enterprise with world-class capabilities.

Jamie Elliott
Term of appointment - July 2014 - July 2018

Jamie is currently working for the Water Corporation as a Water Efficiency Engagement Officer in Kununurra, and has extensive experience in the development and management of programs and services focused on Aboriginal engagement. He has also worked for the Department of Housing, and was previously the Vice Chairperson of the Tjurabalan Native Title Land Aboriginal Corporation.

Harry Graham
Term of appointment - July 2014 - July 2018

Harry is of Nudgu descent and lives in Gibson, near Esperance. He has a strong interest in improving Aboriginal housing, education and health, and is currently a teacher and Board Member of Wongutha Christian Aboriginal Parent-Directed School. He is currently the Chairperson of the Esperance Aboriginal Land Development Pty Ltd.

Patrick Green
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Patrick is a Bunuba man from the Fitzroy Valley region of Western Australia. He lives in Junjuwa and is currently the Chairperson of his community. Patrick is the Chairperson of LEEDAL Pty Ltd a local Aboriginal owned business cooperative and the current Chairperson of Marra Worra Worra Aboriginal Corporation in Fitzroy Crossing.

Preston Thomas
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020
Preston "Mr T" Thomas is a former Deputy Chairperson of the ALT and is the current Chairperson of Kanpa Community Council. He is also a Board Member of the Ngaanyatjarra Council (Aboriginal Corporation). He is committed to increasing economic development opportunities for Aboriginal Western Australians.