Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee

The Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee (ACMC) is established under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 (Act):

  • to evaluate on behalf of the community the importance of places and objects alleged to be associated with Aboriginal persons;
  • where appropriate, to record and preserve the traditional Aboriginal lore related to such places and objects;to recommend to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs (Minister) places and objects which, in the opinion of the Committee, are, or have been, of special significance to persons of Aboriginal descent and should be preserved, acquired and managed by the Minister;
  • to advise the Minister on any question referred to the Committee, and generally on any matter related to the objects and purposes of this Act;
  • to perform the functions allocated to the Committee by this Act;
  • and to advise the Minister when requested to do so as to the apportionment and application of moneys available for the administration of this Act.

Click here to view the ACMC meeting dates for 2018.

ACMC members: 

Vanessa Kickett, Chairperson
Term of appointment - September 2011 - September 2018

Vanessa is a Whadjuk Noongar who grew up in the Midland area, she has extensive experience working in Native Title in the South West and North West regions. Vanessa is also involved with Heritage and Culture, Native Title and Aboriginal Engagement throughout the State. Vanessa has more than 15 years’ professional experience in Policy, Aboriginal Heritage, Contract management, Native Title and Strategic Engagement with Aboriginal communities, She is currently employed as the Manager, Aboriginal Heritage Approvals at the Water Corporation.

Merle Carter
Term of appointment - April 2016 - March 2019

A Senior Cultural Woman of the Miriuwong Gajerrong people and the Bunuba people, Merle is also the Chairwoman of the Kimberley Aboriginal Law and Culture Centre and a board member of the Kimberley Land Council and Aarnja.

Patrick Churnside
Term of appointment - April 2016 - March 2019

Patrick is a Traditional Owner from the Ngarluma and Yindjibarndi Language Groups. He is also Chairperson of the Ngarluma Aboriginal Corporation and was previously a Ngarluma representative on the Board of Directors for the Murujuga Aboriginal Corporation.

Bruce Smith
Term of appointment - April 2016 - March 2019
Bruce is a tribal cultural man and significant Aboriginal leader. He is a former Chairman of the Ngaanyatjarra Council and the ATSIC Western Desert Regional Council and has experience of working across government in a range of positions.

Lindsay Dean
Term of appointment - April 2016 - March 2019

Lindsay was born and raised in the Great Southern (Minang) region and has a strong connection to his people and the land. Lindsay is currently chairperson of the Dreamtime committee which liaises between Lockyer Primary School and the Noongar community to provide positive education outcomes. Lindsay is also a member of the Western Australian Museum Albany Advisory Committee advising on Aboriginal issues as well as a member of the Albany Aboriginal Heritage Reference Group.

Ex-Officio members
Murray Dolling, Ex-Officio, Authorised Land Officer
Alec Coles, Ex-Officio, Western Australian Museum
Vaughan Davies, Ex-Officio, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage

The ACMC meets once every month except in January as per the dates specified in the 2018 ACMC Meeting Dates. This document also provide details on closing and advertising dates for Section 18 Notices and Section 16 Authorisation.

The ACMC can be contacted by emailing acmc@daa.wa.gov.au or by phoning (08) 6551 8000 (International +61 8 6551 8000)

A key function of the ACMC is to consider Section 18 Notices and assess the importance and significance of Aboriginal Sites on the land and make a recommendation to the Minister. 

Notices to be considered at the 11 September 2018 ACMC meeting.

Notices received for consideration at the 11 September 2018 ACMC meeting.

Ministerial decisions from prior Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee meetings.

List of previous ACMC reassessment decisions.